BHEL commissions 330 MW Kishanganga HEP in Jammu & Kashmir

New Delhi, April 4: With the commissioning of the third 110 MW hydro generating unit, Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL) has successfully commissioned the prestigious 330 MW Kishanganga Hydro-Electric Project (HEP) in Jammu & Kashmir (J&K). The first and second units of the project were also recently commissioned in the month of March, 2018. Notably, all the three units of Kishanganga HEP have been commissioned within a short span of 18 days.

Being developed by NHPC Ltd., the project is located on the river Kishanganga, a tributary of the river Jhelum, in Bandipora district of J&K. The 3x110 MW Kishanganga HEP will be able to generate 1,350 Million Units (MU) of clean electricity annually, facilitating reduction of greenhouse emissions.

BHEL was entrusted with execution of the Electro-Mechanical (E&M) package for the project comprising design, manufacture, supply, installation and commissioning of Vertical Shaft Pelton Turbines and matching synchronous Generators, Controls & Monitoring (SCADA) System along with electrical and mechanical auxiliaries.

The equipment was supplied from BHEL's manufacturing units at Bhopal, Jhansi, Rudrapur and Bengaluru while the execution of works on site was carried out by the company's Power Sector Northern Region division and Transmission Business Group.

In the state of J&K, BHEL has so far commissioned 33 Hydro sets with a cumulative capacity of 1,477 MW.

BHEL is presently executing hydroelectric projects of more than 2,700 MW in the country and 2,940 MW in Bhutan which are under various stages of implementation.

Significantly, more than 500 hydroelectric generating sets of various ratings have been ordered so far on BHEL in India and abroad, with a cumulative capacity of more than 29,000 MW. Out of these, equipment for about 5,700 MW generating capacity is for overseas projects. BHEL's hydro plants are successfully and efficiently performing in India and across the world, including at Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bhutan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Nepal, Rwanda, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand and Vietnam.